Continuing its commitment over several years, the Bar Foundation’s Board of Directors has provided another grant to the long running, successful legal education program on WV Public Broadcasting, The Law Works. Pictured above after the grant was provided are, from left to right, Robin Mazza (Marketing Coordinator for WV Public Broadcasting), Ken Gray (Bar Foundation Board Member) and Dan Ringer (The Law Works Host).
During hundreds of weekly programs for almost fifteen years, The Law Works has educated the public about laws and the legal system with outstanding judges, lawyers and civic leaders as participants. Dan Ringer, WV Public Broadcasting and other funding entities are to be commended for this important legal affairs endeavor.
Since beginning its formal grants program in 2004, the Bar Foundation has distributed almost $190,000 through approximately 40 separate grants for worthwhile programs in the areas of public education, law student scholarships, legal services for low income citizens and child abuse prevention. The vast majority of those funds (just less than $175,000) has been distributed in the past five years.



The numbers keep increasing—now there are approximately 150 persons from around the state who have made reservations for the 15th Annual Bar Foundation Fellows Dinner.  This year’s Fellows group consists of nineteen lawyers and three members of the judiciary who join 240 lawyers and 35 judges, who have been previously selected as Bar Foundation Fellows.
The Annual Reception and Dinner to honor the 2013 class is set for Thursday, April 25, at the Marriott Hotel in Charleston. The well attended event (black tie optional) begins at 6:30PM and the cost is $125 per person or $1,250 for a table of ten persons.
The members of this year’s class include:

Fred Adkins-Huntington
Judge Jack Alsop-Webster Springs
Marcia Ashdown-Morgantown
Robert Berthold, Jr.-Charleston
Rebecca Betts-Charleston
Professor Tom Cady-Morgantown
Judge Russell Clawges, Jr.-Morgantown
Robert Dinsmore-Morgantown
William File, III-Beckley
Richard Ford, Jr.-Lewisburg
William Galeota-Morgantown
Thomas Hurney, Jr.-Charleston
Evans King, Jr.-Bridgeport
Neva Lusk-Charleston
David McCauley-Buckhannon
Judge Ronald Pearson-Charleston
Rory Perry, II-Charleston
Tracey Rohrbaugh-Martinsburg
Don Sensabaugh, Jr.-Charleston
Howard Seufer, Jr.-Charleston
Lonnie Simmons-Charleston
Ron Tucker-Fairmont 

Please contact Tom Tinder to make your reservations—(304)-343-9823, or WV Bar Foundation, P. O. Box 4845, Charleston, WV 25364.

The deadline for reservations is APRIL 19, 2013.


The West Virginia Bar Foundation and its Board of Directors wish to announce its         Annual Meeting that will be held on Thursday, June 6, 2013, at 1:30 PM at the law offices of Flaherty, Sensabaugh and Bonasso, 200 Capitol Street in Charleston, WV.
The agenda for the meeting includes the reading of the Minutes of the 2012 Annual Meeting, a report on the programs and activities of the Bar Foundation, the financial report, the Nominating Committee report and Other Business. The Nominating Committee report will consist of the election of the following persons to serve three year terms as members of the Board of Directors:

Barbara Allen-Charleston
Chief Judge John Bailey-Wheeling
Tom Flaherty-Charleston
Ancil Ramey-Huntington
Steve White-South Charleston


Please visit our website at

To unsubscribe from this mailing, please click here: [wpmlunsubscribe]Thomas R. Tinder, Esq.
Executive Director
West Virginia Bar Foundation
Post Office Box 4845
Charleston, WV 25364


The philanthropic organization for West Virginia’s legal profession and justice system.The information in this message may contain confidential material and is protected from disclosure. If this message has not reached its intended recipient, please be notified that any review, retransmission, retention, dissemination or other use of this message is strictly prohibited. If you are not the intended recipient, please notify the sender immediately by replying to this message and delete the information from your system.