On April 28, seventeen individuals were honored as Bar Foundation Fellows during the 13th Annual Bar Foundation Fellows Dinner at the Marriott Hotel in Charleston. This year’s Fellows are lawyers and members of the judiciary who join less than 300 other Fellows that have been previously selected from the more than 5,000 lawyers and judges in the state. The black tie optional reception and dinner was attended by more than 120 persons from all parts of the state. The 2011 Bar Foundation Fellows members are:

J. Michael Benninger-Morgantown

Jodie M. Boylen-Parkersburg

Harry L. Buch-Wheeling

Robert D. Fisher-Ripley

Michael D. Foster-Charleston

The Honorable John R. Frazier-Princeton

The Honorable John W. Hatcher-Fayetteville

The Honorable Sally G. Jackson-Martinsburg

Patrick D. Kelly-Charleston

Stephen M. LaCagnin-Morgantown

Donald B. O’Dell-Huntington

Sharon L. Potter-Wheeling

Harry G. Shaffer, III-Madison

Jessica Justice Stolarik-Morgantown

The Honorable Robert B. Stone-Morgantown

Charlene A. Vaughan-Charleston

William Douglas Witten-Logan


Bar Foundation Lifetime Member Judge Edwin Flowers (Morgantown) and his wife, Ellie, a retired longtime leader at the WVU College of Law, have made a generous contribution to support the programs and activities of the Bar Foundation in memory of Mary Pat Steptoe, the wife of Bob Steptoe (Clarksburg), the first President of the organization. The funds will be utilized for grants to worthwhile charitable West Virginia organizations to improve the administration of justice and the provision of legal services to the state’s citizens. Donations to the Bar Foundation are tax deductible and the grants are distributed by the diverse fifteen member Board of Directors.


The Bar Foundation is very pleased to announce that Landon Brown, Administrative Law Judge for the WV Public Employees Grievance Board, has become a Lifetime Member of the organization.