The American Bar Association announces The Conspirator, a new movie directed by Robert Redford (pictured with James McAvoy) that examines justice in the time of a historic crisis. Conspirator or scapegoat? What was Mary Surratt’s role in the assassination of President Abraham Lincoln? The legal issues examined in the movie provide an opportunity for the ABA to serve its members, the legal profession and the public by highlighting the importance of due process and competent representation for defendants.The movie focuses on the trial of Surratt, owner of the boarding house where John Wilkes Booth and others planned their assault on the newly reunited federal government and, more particularly, its leaders. A young Union officer, Frederick Aiken, reluctantly accepts the assignment to defend her. His commitment to her defense evolves as the movie unfolds. James McAvoy, Robin Wright, Kevin Kline, Tom Wilkinson, Evan Rachel Wood and Danny Huston lead the cast.  A Special Sneak Preview of this excellent movie was shown during the ABA/NCBF Midyear Meeting in Atlanta. Its national release occurred on April 15 and it is an inspiring movie for lawyers to see.

Seventeen individuals will be honored as Bar Foundation Fellows during the 13th Annual Bar Foundation Fellows Dinner on Thursday, April 28, 2011, at the Marriott Hotel in Charleston. This year’s Fellows are lawyers and members of the judiciary who will join less than 300 other Fellows that have been previously selected from the more than 5, 000 lawyers and judges in the state.  The black tie optional reception and dinner begins at 6:30 PM and the cost is $125 per person or $1,250 for a table of ten persons. Please contact Tom Tinder (304-343-9823 or tom@wvbarfoundation.org) to make reservations. The deadline to make reservations is April 25.
The 2011 Bar Foundation Fellows members are:
J. Michael Benninger-Morgantown
Jodie M. Boylen-Parkersburg
Harry L. Buch-Wheeling
Robert D. Fisher-Ripley
Michael D. Foster-Charleston
The Honorable John R. Frazier-Princeton
The Honorable John W. Hatcher-Fayetteville
The Honorable Sally G. Jackson-Martinsburg
Patrick D. Kelly-Charleston
Stephen M. LaCagnin-Morgantown
Donald B. O’Dell-Huntington
Sharon L. Potter-Wheeling
Harry G. Shaffer, III-Madison
Jessica Justice Stolarik-Morgantown
The Honorable Robert B. Stone-Morgantown
Charlene A. Vaughan-Charleston
William Douglas Witten-Logan

The West Virginia Bar Foundation and its Board of Directors wish to announce its Annual Meeting that will be held on Thursday, June 9, 2011, at 1:30 PM at the law offices of Bowles, Rice, McDavid, Graff and Love, 600 Quarrier Street in Charleston, WV. The agenda for the meeting includes the reading of the Minutes of the 20010 Annual Meeting, the activities of the Bar Foundation, the financial report, the Nominating Committee report and Other Business. The Nominating Committee report will consist of the election of the following persons to serve three year terms as members of the Board of Directors:
Michael John Aloi-Fairmont
Dean Joyce McConnell-Morgantown
Kathy Santa Barbara-Martinsburg
David Webb-Keyser
W. Tracey Weber-Weston