In Memory
In Memory

In the past two weeks, three well known and well respected friends of the Bar Foundation have passed away—Judge John T. Madden (Moundsville), Judge M. Blane Michael (Charleston) and Mary Pat Steptoe (Clarksburg). Judge Madden served in the WV House of Delegates and then as a WV Circuit Court Judge. Judge Michael served in the Governor’s Office and then was appointed by President Clinton as a Judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit. Both of them were selected as Bar Foundation Fellows. Mary Pat Steptoe was the wife of Bob Steptoe, the first President of the Bar Foundation and a Fellow, and she provided him with her support and guidance. All three of these wonderful people lived their lives to the fullest and will never be forgotten by their collegues, friends and family.

Bar Foundation Fellow Kemp Morton (Huntington) and his wife, Susan, have made a generous contribution to support the programs and activities of the Bar Foundation in memory of Mary Pat Steptoe, the wife of Bob Steptoe (Clarksburg), the first President of the organization. The funds will be utilized for grants to worthwhile charitable West Virginia organizations to improve the administration of justice and the provision of legal services to the state’s citizens. Donations to the Bar Foundation are tax deductible and the grants are distributed by the diverse fifteen member Board of Directors.

Seventeen individuals will be honored as Bar Foundation Fellows during the 13th Annual Bar Foundation Fellows Dinner on Thursday, April 28, 2011, at the Marriott Hotel in Charleston. This year’s Fellows are lawyers and members of the judiciary who will join less than 300 other Fellows that have been previously selected from the more than 5, 000 lawyers and judges in the state.  The black tie optional reception and dinner begins at 6:30 PM and the cost is $125 per person or $1,250 for a table of ten persons. Please contact Tom Tinder (304-343-9823 or to make reservations.
The 2011 Bar Foundation Fellows members are:
J. Michael Benninger-Morgantown
Jodie M. Boylen-Parkersburg
Harry L. Buch-Wheeling
Robert D. Fisher-Ripley
Michael D. Foster-Charleston
The Honorable John R. Frazier-Princeton
The Honorable John W. Hatcher-Fayetteville
The Honorable Sally G. Jackson-Martinsburg
Patrick D. Kelly-Charleston
Stephen M. LaCagnin-Morgantown
Donald B. O’Dell-Huntington
Sharon L. Potter-Wheeling
Harry G. Shaffer, III-Madison
Jessica Justice Stolarik-Morgantown
The Honorable Robert B. Stone-Morgantown
Charlene A. Vaughan-Charleston
William Douglas Witten-Logan