First Lady Gayle Manchin meets high school students from Brazil at Governor's Mansion.
First Lady Gayle Manchin meets high school students from Brazil at Governor’s Mansion.

In August, five high school students and two chaperones from Espirito Santo, Brazil, spent several days in WV as participants in a 40 year partnership between WV and their state. They heard a presentation from Public Information Officer Jennifer Bundy in the Supreme Court, toured the Capitol and other locations, met with First Lady Gayle Manchin at the Governor’s Mansion and attended classes at Sissonville High School in Kanawha County. WV lawyers, judges, WVU Law School faculty and law students (supported by WV Bar Foundation grants) have participated in the past in exchange programs with Espirito Santo officials, which are sponsored by the International Partners of the Americas program.
The annual WV Bar Foundation membership dues notices for the 2010-11 fiscal year were sent by email to more than 4,400 active practicing lawyers in the state at the very end of July. Annual dues are $50 and Lifetime dues are $500. A tax exempt entity, the Bar Foundation uses membership dues, donations and payments to continue its beneficial work on behalf of the legal profession. New and renewing members, as well as contributors include:
Rochelle L. Brightwell-Weirton
Honorable Edwin F. Flowers-Morgantown
Honorable Larry V. Starcher-Morgantown
Montie Van Nostrand-Webster Springs
In August, the National Conference of Bar Foundations held its Annual Meeting as part of the American Bar Assiciation’s annual event. NCBF is composed of volunteer leaders and executive staff members from the more than 200 city, county, statewide and specialty bar foundations in all parts of the the nation. The WV Bar Foundation has been an active member of NCBF for the past 22 years and has participated in its education seminars, networking opportunities and variety of activities. During the recent meeting, WV Bar Foundation Executive Director Tom Tinder was elected to serve as the group’s President for the upcoming year.