The WVBF Board of Directors consists of well known and well respected judges and lawyers from all parts of the state and all types of law practice. The current Board members are: Harry G. Shaffer, III, Esq. President Madison David A. Jividen, Esq. Vice President Wheeling M. Christine F. Morris, Esq. Secretary/Treasurer Charleston Judge Jack Alsop Webster Springs Ellen S. Cappellanti, Esq. Charleston Teresa J. Dumire, Esq. Morgantown Judge Mary Ellen Griffith Princeton Lucien G. Lewin, Esq. Martinsburg C. David Morrison, Esq. Bridgeport Judge Joyce H. Morton Webster Springs Gail T. Henderson Staples, Esq. Huntington Gerard R. Stowers, Esq. Charleston Dean John E. Taylor, Esq. Morgantown W. Tracey Weber, III, Esq. Weston The Board members hold quarterly meetings, one in person and three by telephone conference call. In addition, there are numerous email communications utilized in order for the Board to make to accomplish its policy making and fiduciary responsibilities. Each Board member serves on at least one Committee, such as Audit, Executive, Foundation Fellows Nominating, Grants, Justice Fund, Nominating and Strategic Planning. Board members are elected to three year terms with the opportunity to serve one additional three year term. The Bar Foundation has been very fortunate to have outstanding federal and state court judges and lawyers serve as members of the Board of Directors since the organization was incorporated as a non profit entity in 1988. Their time, effort and wisdom have enabled the Bar Foundation to become a thriving philanthropic entity meeting its mission of improving the administration of justice and the provision of legal services to WV’s men, women and children.
The special virtual Lunch and Laughs held on October 23 was very successful from a financial standpoint due to the generous donations made by a long list of outstanding Sponsors and Contributors. These caring individuals and law related entities are: Jackson Kelly Robert P. Simons, Esq. Steptoe and Johnson WV Bar Foundation WVU College of Law WVU President’s Office Judge Irene Keeley Judy and Rob Fisher, Esq. Kay Casto & Chaney Curtis “Hank” Barnette, Esq. David Howell and Irene Berger Ann Flowers, Esq. Lucien Lewin, Esq. Myla and Jack Bowman, Esq. Dr. Carroll and David Morrison, Esq. D. Lyn Dotson, Esq. These valued contributions will support the important programs that were selected by this year’s Legal Legends, Ellie and Judge Ed Flowers. The two organizations are the Black Law Students Association and the Career Services Center at the WVU College of Law. Thank You, again, to the Sponsors and Contributors! COMMITTEE/BOARD MEETINGS
There will be meetings of Bar Foundation committees during the month of November in preparation for the quarterly Board of Directors meeting in December: November 13-Bar Foundation Fellows Nominating Committee November 17-Justice Fund Committee November 18-Audit Committee November 19-Grants Committee December 3-Board of Directors