The 2010 class of Bar Foundation Fellows was honored at the Annual Reception and Dinner on April 29.
The 2010 class of Bar Foundation Fellows was honored at the Annual Reception and Dinner on April 29.
More than 160 persons from all parts of the state were in attendance when nineteen individuals were honored as Bar Foundation Fellows during the 12th Annual Bar Foundation Fellows Dinner on Thursday, April 29, 2010, at the Marriott Hotel in Charleston. Fellows are those lawyers and members of the judiciary whose professional, public and private careers have demonstrated dedication to the welfare of their communities and honorable service to the legal profession.
The 2010 Bar Foundation Fellows class members are:
Robert Allen-Charleston
Richard Bolen-Huntington
Ellen Cappellanti-Charleston
Anita Casey-Charleston
Steve Farmer-Charleston
Ken Gray-Morgantown
Tom Heywood-Charleston
The Honorable Gary Johnson-Summersville
William Kolibash-Wheeling
Tim Manchin-Fairmont
Dean Joyce McConnell-Morgantown
Robert Minto-Missoula, Montana
Dina Mohler-Charleston
Charles Piccirillo-Madison
William Powell-Martinsburg
Kathy Santa Barbara-Martinsburg
The Honorable Thomas Steptoe-Charles Town
William Wilmoth-Wheeling
John Wooton-Beckley
          Our WV Bar Foundation has been informed by the WV Grantmakers Association of the availability of funding from a Federal Court settlement in the Northern Panhandle for  the benefit of children and families in West Virginia. Approximately $150,000 will be distributed through challenge grants to collaborations of grantmaking entities.  These grants will support community based projects or projects that focus on a particular issue and cross geographic boundaries. Preference will be given to projects that ultimately benefit children and youth from our state’s rural communities. Grant awards are expected to range from $30,000 to $50,000, with each grant requiring at least a 1:1 match.
The lead applicant must be a member of the WV Grantmakers Association—–our Bar Foundation is a member as are many other foundations and non-profit organizations in West Virginia. However, partners may include member and non-member grantmakers, individual philanthropists, corporate donors and others. The deadline for applications is August 31, 2010, and more information and the grant application are available at or WV Grantmakers Association, Collaborating for Youth, P. O. Box 985, Weston, WV 26452.
The West Virginia Bar Foundation and its Board of Directors wish to announce its Annual Meeting that will be held on Thursday, June 10, 2010, at 1:30 PM at the State Bar Center in Charleston, WV. The agenda for the meeting includes the reading of the Minutes of the 2009 Annual Meeting, the activities of the Bar Foundation, the financial report, the Nominating Committee report and Other Business. The Nominating Committee report will consist of the election of the following persons to serve three year terms as members of the Board of Directors:
Barbara H. Allen-Charleston
The Honorable John P. Bailey-Wheeling
Thomas V. Flaherty-Charleston
Ancil G. Ramey-Charleston
Steven F. White-Charleston